Important changes in entry rules and scoring 2018

Baltic Classic Master Cup 2018

All yachts entering the regatta series will be included in the final results. The previous rule stating that it was mandatory to race in two countries to be included in the final results has been abandoned for the 2018 season. Instead extra international points will be awarded to yachts racing regattas outside their home country. See the rules in detail below.

The reason for this extra bonus it that the purpose of the Baltic Classic Master Cup is to encourage international classic yacht racing in the Baltic Sea. The points can also be considered a reward for the long distance open sea passage required to participate in both  Finland and Sweden.

Registration will open in April/May. For inquiries e-mail ahoy (at)

Baltic Classic Masters includes four different classic regattas in Finland and Sweden:

  • ÅFOR Classic, Stockholm – Sandhamn, Sweden, KSSS, the Royal Swedish Yacht Club
  • Airisto Classic Regatta, Turku, Finland, ASS, Airisto Yacht Club
  • Champagne Regatta, Helsinki, Finland, Helsinki Yacht Club, HSS
  • Sandhamnsregattan by Bluewater, Sandhamn, Sweden, KSSS, the Royal Swedish Yacht Club
Classic yachts entering any of these regattas will be part of the Baltic Classic Master Cup 2018.  The cup fee is included in the registration fees.

A classic yacht is a yacht in solid wood or riveted steel built or designed 1970 and earlier.

The yacht that receives most points will be the winner.

All yachts will be be included in the final cup results.

The Finnish regattas are raced according to FinLYS and the Swedish according to SRS. A yacht racing outside its home country will be issued a measurment certificate free of charge from the national sail association of the regatta country. 

Three different kinds of points will be rewarded; racing pointsregatta points and international points.

Racing points

The number of racing points a yacht will receive is dependent on the number of participating yachts. If there are 30 yachts in a regatta the winner will receive 30 points, the second 29 and so on. The last yacht completing the regatta receives 1 point.

The three best regatta results out of four will be counted in the final results.  If a yacht participates in all four regattas, the racing points from the regatta where the yacht has received the lowest number of points will be discarded.

Regatta points

All yachts that have started in a race will receive 2 regatta points in addition to the racing points. The regatta points are awarded even if the yacht does not complete the race. No discards are done, so if a yacht participates in all four regattas it will receive 8 regatta points. 

International points

Yachts competing in a neighbouring country will receive 4 extra points per foreign regatta. This also applies for yachts from a third country but a maximum of 8 points will be awarded. So, for example a German yacht will receive international points for the first two regattas the yacht participated in, but no international points for regatta 3 and 4.

If yachts have the same score the one with most racing points will be considered having the highest score.

The Cup and Ingmar Bergman of 10mR Itaka, the winning yacht in 2010

Ingmar Bergman and 10mR Itaka crew winners of the 2010 Cup

The Baltic Classic Master Cup  trophy is over hundred years old and was set up in 2010 by GL Watson, the world’s oldest yacht design studio, as a tribute to Scandinavian yacht designers and active classic yachtsmen.

The launch of the Baltic Classic Master Cup has rejuvenated the Baltic classic racing tradition. The first winner of the cup in 2010 was Ingmar Bergman who raced Itaka, a 10mR. Vadim Manukhin won the cup in 2011 with L6 Nika and Nils Forsfält on 95 sq m La Morena  took the cup back to Sweden in 2012, Russian L6 Onega  won in 2013, the 8mR Luna from Finland won in 2014 and in 2015 the Widstrand family took home the cup to Sweden again in 55 sq m gaff rigged Miranda. In 2016 the Cup was won by Jan and Max Nystedt of Sweden with the  30 sq m Pani and in 2017 the Widstrand team won again, but this time with 95 sq m Marga. 

Finnish 8mR Vågspel Photo Esko Kilpi.


Atena of 1954 en route to Finland. Photo: Olle Appelberg.

Finnish 10mR Kitty, gold medal winner at the Stockholm Olympics 1912. Photo: Jorma Rautapää.

See you at the races!